RCACF Awards $443,000 in scholarships

This year the Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to announce 93 scholarships totaling $443,000 awarded through the Foundation to area students. Every year, the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF is pleased to manage 11 scholarship funds. These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

 The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $475 scholarships are Emerson Nichols and Aniya Stierlen. 

The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Harley Headley and Jesse Whitmer received $1,100 scholarships. The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Kirsten Kyger received a renewable $2,500 scholarship. Isabelle Walton received a $2,500 scholarship.

 The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Logan Keller received a $700 scholarship.

The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Emerson Nichols, Kylee Richardson and Joshua Sohm received $700 scholarships. 

The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Alexia Charbonneau, Maci Clark, Brianna Hammack, Aubrey Larson and Emerson Nichols received $10,000 scholarships. Students receiving $7,500 scholarships are Regan Betts, Matthew Buhrle, Bailey Dollison, Kassidy Hobbs, Tyler Moresco, Renee Nichol, Kaitlyn Nichols, Samantha Ptacek, Chandler Reich-Sellens, and Kylee Richardson. Recipients of $5,000 scholarships are Ryan Birky, Cole Birky, Isabella Boxberger, Lauren Chinski, Tandy Coleman, Abigail Cross, Cheney Cunningham, Koby Decker, Camille Dortland, Tiffany Dortland, Brayden Drake, Caleigh Evans, Brayden Ford, Brittan Fritschen, Avalon Garland, Alaina Gfeller, Jordyn Guenot, Halle Hall, Cameron Hendryx, Kylie Houck, Kyleigh Kasper, Darian Klee, Katherine Krauss, Kirsten Kyger, Breanna LaMonte, Kyle Lampert, Payden Leiker, Samantha Leiker, Brooke Leiker, Grace Lumpkins, Gillian Lynch, Amiah Meis, Rylee Miller, Lauren Myers, Abigail Myers, Shelby Ney, Shannon Ney-Spencer, Kayla Noller, Trayson Northcutt, Whitney Nuss, Samuel Nuss, Samuel Ochs, Megan Peeler, Kalli Pfeiffer, Caden Pfeiffer, Delainey Pospichal, Rhett Pospichal, Lillian Rageth, Rylan Reeves, Emily Ridgley, Aidan Rohr, Emicka Schoemaker, Joshua Sohm, Jacob Sohm, Skylar Steinle, Aniya Stierlen, Mackenzie Thomas, Isabelle Walton, Jacob Windholz, and LaAries Winzerling.

The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. Students receiving $350 scholarship are Haley Fallis and Zachary Rose. 

The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Andrew Roth received a $2,785 scholarship. 

The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Recipients of $550 scholarships are Gracyn Cotterill and Logan Keller. 

The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Ryan Birky and Tandy Coleman received $900 scholarships.   

The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture. Abigail Myers received a $690 scholarship.  For more information, please call Angela Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit www.rcacf.org.