Skip to content

RCACF Awards $553,200 in Scholarships

RCACF announces scholarship recipients 

This year the Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to announce 110 scholarships totaling $553,200 awarded through the Foundation to area students.

Every year, the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF is pleased to manage 12 scholarship funds. These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $600 scholarships are Elizabeth Morgenstern and Marissa Myers.

The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Brooke Birney and Seth Schneider received $1,500 scholarships.

The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Roman Hernandez received a renewable $2,500 scholarship. Anna Thielen received a $2,500 scholarship.

The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Rylan Baalman received a $1,400 scholarship.

The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Harlee Donovan and Roman Hernandez received $250 scholarships. Marissa Myers and Anna Thielen received $750 scholarships.

The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Harlee Donovan, Kierra Eck, Gracie Karst, Marissa Myers, Brooks Nichols, Kayla Noller, Rylan Reeves, Aiden Rohr, Jacob Sohm, and Joshua Sohm received $10,000 scholarships. Students receiving $8,500 scholarships are Cole Birky, Matthew Buhrle, Alexia Charbonneau, Maci Clark, Bailey Dollison, Braydon Gibson, Roman Hernandez, Kirsten Kyger, Aubrey Larson, Kelly Lopez, Lauren Myers, Abigail Myers, Renee Nichol, Emerson Nichols, Thomas Pummell, James Pummell, La Aries Winzerling, and Mackenzie Zimmerman. Recipients of $5,000 scholarships are Halle Anderson, Laurel Beckman, Regan Betts, Brooke Birney, Taelyr Blehm, Jordayn Buhrle, Aji Coker, Abigail Cross, Jackson Cross, Chesney Cunningham, Camille Dortland, Tiffany Dortland, Graham Dreiling, Hannah Dupogny, Aiden Ehrlich, Caleigh Evans, Cameron Farmer, Elijah Fontanez, Lauren Franks, Brittan Fritschen, Avalon Garland, Lily Garland, Gracie Gray, Jordynn Guenot, Jennifer Klaus, Charles Krug, Tyler Lampert, Kyle Lampert, Grace Lumpkins, Gillian Lynch, Carolyne Martin, Zachary Martinez, Wyatt Middleton, Rylee Miller, Emma Morgenstern, Elizabeth Morgenstern, Jacob Ney, Peyton Pfannenstiel, Kalli Pfeifer, Christopher Pummell, David Pummell, Breanna Reynolds, Andrew Roth, Seth Schneider, Janae Schulte, Connor Schwien, Kamryn Steinle, Aniya Stierlen, Anna Thielen, and Addison Unrein. Students receiving $2,500 scholarships are Rylan Baalman, Cheyenne Blundon, Anthony Bonaccorso, Hannah Gideon, Viola Neal, Megan Peeler, Jaelynne Seirer, Herbert Shumaker and Alayna Van Der Wege.

The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. Kolton Palmer received a $900 scholarship.

The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Laurel Beckman and Zachary Martinez received $2,350 scholarships.

The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Recipients of $750 scholarships are Peyton Pfannenstiel and Connor Schwien.

The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Cole Birky and Jacob Sohm received $1,150 scholarships.

The Gerald W. Stoppel Academic Scholarship Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School or a former graduate of Russell High School. Recipients of $1,200 scholarships are Jordayn Buhrle, Emerson Nichols, Thomas Pummell and Addison Unrein.

The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture Kierra Eck received a $900 scholarship.

For more information, please call Angela Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit