Skip to content

RCACF Awards More than $500,000 in Scholarships

RCACF announces scholarship recipients 

This year the Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to announce 103 scholarships totaling $526,855 awarded through the Foundation to area students.

Every year, the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF is pleased to manage 12 scholarship funds. These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $450 scholarships are Jordayn Buhrle and Lauren Franks.

The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Emily Cole and Lauren Franks received $1,200 scholarships.

The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Hannah Dapogny received a renewable $2,500 scholarship. Jaelynne Seier received a $2,500 scholarship.

The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Brayden Strobel received a $925 scholarship.

The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Sydney Krauss received a $1,000 scholarship.

The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Matthew Buhrle, Maci Clark, Braydon Gibson, Darian Klee, Kirsten Kyger, Jace Peerman, Delainey Pospichal, Aniya Stierlen, LaAries Winzerling and Mackenzie Zimmerman received $10,000 scholarships. Students receiving $8,500 scholarships are Macie Banks, Cheyenne Blundon, Alexia Charbonneau, Abigail Cross, Bailey Dollison, Jordynn Guenot, Halle Hall, Kelly Lopez, Nick Miller, Abigail Myers, Lauren Myers, Renee Nichol, Aidan Rohr, Hunter Throop, and Jesse Whitmer. Recipients of $5,000 scholarships are Mileah Backhus, Mason Berens, Ryan Birky, Cole Birky, Isabella Boxberger, Jordayn Buhrle, Emily Cole, Jackson Cross, Chesney Cunningham, Hannah Dapogny, Camille Dortland, Tiffany Dortland, Caleigh Evans, Cameron Farmer, Kayla Farmer, Brittan Fritschen, Avalon Garland, Gracie Gray, Cameron Hendryx, Lacy Herndon, Sydney Krauss, Katherine Krauss, Charlie Krug, Tyler Lampert, Kyle Lampert, Aubrey Larson, Grace Lumpkins, Gillian Lynch, Amiah Meiss, Wyatt Middleton, Rylee Miller, Shelby Ney, Jacob Ney, Emerson Nichols, Kayla Noller, Whitney Nuss, Megan Peeler, Caden Pfeiffer, Kalli Pfeiffer, Rhett Pospichal, Chase Prester, Samamtha Ptacek, David Pummell, Christopher Pummell, Rylan Reeves, Andrew Roth, Janae Schulte, Jaelynne Seier, Jacob Sohm, Joshua Sohm, Skylar Steinle, Trevor Steinle, Brayden Strobel, Mackenzie Thomas and Alayna Van Der Wege. Students receiving $1,250 scholarships are Lauren Franks and Gracie Karst.

The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. Students receiving $365 scholarships are Taylor Fallis and Raylyn Paget.

The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Mason Berens, Jacob Ney and David Pummell received $1,200 scholarships.

The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Recipients of $600 scholarships are Macie Banks and Raylyn Paget.

The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Isabella Boxberger and Jacob Sohm received $900 scholarships.

The Gerald W. Stoppel Academic Scholarship Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School or a former graduate of Russell High School. Recipients of $1,200 scholarships are Emily Cole, Gracie Karst and Kirsten Kyger.

The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture. Gracie Gray received a $700 scholarship.

For more information, please call Angela Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit